Access Board to Hold Town Hall in Seattle

Seattle City Skyline

The Access Board will hold a town hall meeting in Seattle on May 10 at the University of Washington. The event will feature a panel discussion on implementation of accessibility requirements at the state and local levels and another on access to public transportation, including bus and rail systems and passenger vessels. Both panels will consist of speakers from the Seattle area and will be moderated by Board members.

An open forum will follow to allow members of the public to make comments or pose questions to the Board. The Board will provide a briefing on its mission and work and an update on its rulemaking activities under the ADA and other laws. The event will take place from 1:30 to 5:00 at the University of Washington Student Union. Registration is not required. Attendees are requested to refrain from using perfume, cologne, and other fragrances for the comfort of all participants.

May 10, 2016
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Husky Union Building (the HUB)
University of Washington
Room 250 (2nd floor)
4001 East Stevens Way, NE

For more information, email David Baquis or call (202) 272–0013 (voice), or (202) 272–0071 (TTY).

Printable Flyer (PDF)

About the Access Board

The Access Board is an independent federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards. Created in 1973 to ensure access to federally funded facilities, the Board is now a leading source of information on accessible design. The Board develops and maintains design criteria for the built environment, transit vehicles, telecommunications equipment, medical diagnostic equipment, and information technology. It also provides technical assistance and training on these requirements and on accessible design and continues to enforce accessibility standards that cover federally funded facilities.

The Board is structured to function as a coordinating body among federal agencies and to directly represent the public, particularly people with disabilities. Twelve of its members are representatives from most of the federal departments.  Thirteen others are members of the public appointed by the President, a majority of whom must have a disability.


  • Translate